Time for “Courageous Conservatives” to Stand Up & Be Heard

Border Security at Risk in TX House!

Action Alert: Border Security is at risk in the Texas House


“Thank you for sending out the “call to action” to call the House committees regarding the funding of border security. I got intel back today that hundreds of calls have gone in and the Straus gang is not happy about it. That means our timing is right and that we are over the target. JoAnn”

–JoAnn Fleming, Executive Director, Grassroots America – We the People


Last week, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick called for continued funding for border security.  According to public statements and news accounts, Speaker Joe Straus shrugged off Patrick’s call with a notable lack of enthusiasm.

This is about the safety and security of Texas. The People of Texas elected Gov. Greg Abbott and Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick with a mandate to secure the Texas border and deal with the high cost of illegal aliens and criminal activity related to cartels and transnational gangs running rampant in our State.  Speaker Straus and his followers in the House seem to be trying to overturn last November’s election.  Now, “We the People” must hold them accountable.

Support funding for border security to continue through May by calling today!

  • The Homeland Security & Public Safety Committee meets tomorrow 2/17/15 at 8 am.
  • Ways & Means meets tomorrow at 8:30 am.
  • A subcommittee of Appropriations meets on Thursday at 8 AM.  

Click here to download 2015 House Committees Contact Information. The three committees listed above are the committees to call first, but please call every committee member to inform them of your concerns.  They will make decisions on bills that impact border security for EVERY Texan!  (Only GOP are listed – since they all ran as conservatives and all say they support a secure border).

Keep this list handy.  As bills come to the floor of the House, you will need this list again.  It also contains phone numbers for Governor Abbott.  He needs to hear from all of you as well.  Remind him that it is time for Texas to lead on border security and the rule of law!


  1. Politely tell them that you support continued funding of the Texas National Guard and DPS for border security.
  2. Funding for the Guard and Operation Strong Safety needs to occur through the end of the budget year and be funded in the upcoming new budget.
  3. Thank them and remind them that you will watch how they vote.

ACTION ITEM: Call, Tweet, Facebook Your US Rep – TX to #FireBoehner

Call, tweet, and /or Facebook message your TX Representative Today!

Ask him/her to #FireBoehner & VOTE for GOHMERT (or Yoho) for Speaker! Either will do. We just need 29 votes for someone not Boehner to put his speakership on hold. Even if we can’t defeat him, we can let them know that his appeasement and working with Pres. Obama is NOT what we voted for in November.


Good article to read before calling re: Speaker’s Race:

Keep it short, cordial and leave your name and address if you live in the District.


@JudgeTedPoe #FireBoehner Vote for Gohmert or Yoho. CRomnibus passed w/o reading/debate, fully funds OCare.

From the article linked in the tweet: A Conservative’s Guide to the Speaker’s Race by Daniel Horowitz:

Unlike last month’s vote, which served to nominate Boehner in conference as the GOP pick for Speaker, the vote on the floor of the House will not be a voice vote by acclimation, nor will it be a secret ballot. Each of the 435 members is called to stand before a packed chamber and the millions of viewers on television to proclaim their choice for Speaker. No member is bound to vote for the nominee of his party; each member is free to vote for any individual qualified to serve as Speaker. Indeed, on 17 occasions since 1913, individual members have registered votes for “third choices.”

A group of 17 progressive Republicans orchestrated a similar stratagem in 1923, whereby they blocked the party’s nominee from securing a majority for nine consecutive ballots until the party leadership agreed to implement some of the reforms they were suggesting. Certainly the seriousness of our constitutional and political crisis warrants an effort like this from a group of bold conservatives in order to secure a reasonable compromise with a new Speaker, even if the choices that emerge are from the establishment wing of the party.

The operative point here is that it is not sufficient to garner a plurality of the votes; the winner must secure a majority of the total number of votes cast. Consequently, given that there are 247 Republican members in the new Congress, if 29 members vote for someone other than Boehner – be it Rep. Jim Jordan, their favorite colleague, or even a private citizen – Boehner will be denied the majority of likely votes cast.

US Rep Website Link – Click to follow DC Phone Twitter Handle Rep Twitter Page – Click to follow FB Page – Click to follow
CD 1-Louie Gohmert (202) 225-3035 @replouiegohmert @replouiegohmert Facebook
CD 2-Ted Poe (202) 225-6565 @JudgeTedPoe @JudgeTedPoe Facebook
CD 3-Sam Johnson (202) 225-4201 @SamsPressShop @SamsPressShop Facebook
CD 4-Ralph Hall (202) 225-6673 @RalphHallPress @RalphHallPress Facebook
CD 5-Jeb Hensarling (202) 225-3484 @RepHensarling @RepHensarling Facebook
CD 6-Joe Barton (202) 225-2002 @RepJoeBarton @RepJoeBarton Facebook
CD 7-John Culberson (202) 225-2571 @CongCulberson @CongCulberson Facebook
CD 8-Kevin Brady (202) 225-4901 @RepKevinBrady @RepKevinBrady Facebook
CD 10-Michael McCaul (202) 225-2401 @McCaulPressShop @McCaulPressShop Facebook
CD 11-Mike Conaway (202) 225-3605 @ConawayTX11 @ConawayTX11 Facebook
CD 12-Kay Granger (202) 225-5071 @RepKayGranger @RepKayGranger Facebook
CD 13-Mac Thornberry (202) 225-3706 @MacTXPress @MacTXPress Facebook
CD 14-Randy Weber (202) 225-2831 @TXRandy14 @TXRandy14 Facebook
CD 17-Bill Flores (202) 225-6105 @RepBillFlores @RepBillFlores Facebook
CD 19-Randy Neugebauer (202) 225-4005 @RandyNeugebauer @RandyNeugebauer Facebook
CD-21Lamar Smith (202) 225-4236 @LamarSmithTX21 @LamarSmithTX21 Facebook
CD 22-Pete Olson (202) 225-5951 @OlsonPressShop @OlsonPressShop Facebook
CD 24-Kenny Marchant (202) 225-6605 @RepKenMarchant @RepKenMarchant Facebook
CD 25-Roger Williams (202) 225-9896 @RepRWilliams @RepRWilliams Facebook
CD 26-Michael Burgess (202) 225-7772 @michaelcburgess @michaelcburgess Facebook
CD 27-Blake Farenthold (202) 225-7742 @farenthold @farenthold Facebook
CD 31-John Carter (202) 225-3864 @JudgeCarter @JudgeCarter Facebook
CD 32-Pete Sessions (202) 225-2231 @PeteSessions @PeteSessions Facebook
CD 36-Steve Stockman (202) 225-1555 @SteveWorks4You @SteveWorks4You Facebook



Click link below for PDF of AFP TX Action Email. Formatted for Publication. Content not changed.




















Page 2: